skip nav  

The Hare and Hounds, Corsham - pub details

Hare and Hounds
[image 2] [image 3]

Address: 48 Pickwick, Corsham, Wiltshire, SN13 0HY [map] [gmap]

Tel: 0871 951 1000 (ref 1033) - calls cost 10p per minute plus network extras

Nearest train stations Chippenham (4.4 miles), Melksham (4.8 miles)

Pub facilities/features:

Work here? Claim this business

> Current user rating: 6.4/10 (rated by 23 users)
> Hotels nearby: Search
> Log in to rate this pub or upload a picture of it.
> Post a comment > Mail a friend

other pubs nearby:

Two Pigs, Corsham (0.0 miles), Swan Inn, Corsham (0.4 miles), Corsham Club, Corsham (0.5 miles), Chapel etc, Corsham (0.5 miles), Flemish Weaver, Corsham (0.6 miles) - see more nearby pubs

user reviews of the Hare and Hounds, Corsham

please note - reviews on this site are purely the opinion of site visitors, so don't take them too seriously.

5 most recent reviews of 31 shown - see all reviews

Oh and by the way - unless you grind your own beef, too order, prior to cooking, restaurants are required to cook all prepared meats thoroughly.

Solid pieces of meat such as steaks are exempt from this, because they are... solid pieces of meat, the only bacteria that needs to be killed during the cooking process woudl be that on the surface of the meat.

When meat is ground or minced, the meat has a larger surface area to come into contact with air and hence bacteria.

Whilst we'd love to grind our own beef, we simply do not have the room in our tiny kitchen, so instead we buy ground, organic beef and make our own burgers, by hand, with a little finely chopped onion, a tiny pinch of salt, a good pinch of ground black pepper, a small dollop of wholegrain mustard and a little bit of beaten egg.

The meat is then made in to patties that are then cooked... all the way through...beacuse if they weren't then the environmental health officer would want to smack my bot bot beacuse i would have allowed the staff to break the law. As I do not want my bot bot smacked, you get your burger cooked all the way through.

Ooh and WTF is a bit rude, don't you think? Please check the postings policy...
dad2james - 17 May 2012 22:14
Dear "Prask," I'm very sorry to hear on this website that you didn't enjoy your meal, and the comments you have chosen to make. Myself and the staff at The Hare and Hounds try to go out of their way to accommodate customers who like yourself turn up as the kitchen is about to close.

Inspite of the kitchen staff finishing up form what had earlier been a very busy day, we still prepared for you a whole baked camembert (normally serves 2 people to share) as well as a 20oz Rump Steak - served rare, in addition to this we also prepared a separate starter and main course for your companion.

All 4 starters and main courses were prepared and served to you at the same time as per your request.

Throughout your meal, the staff and I regularly checked on your table, to see if everything was to your satisfaction and if we could bring you anything else.

Each time you both said how everything was lovely and that you were fine.

You only chose to comment on the steak at the end of your meal, simply claiming that the steak was undercooked.

It is my belief that you made the same mistake my 7 year old son used to make when he was younger and tried to order more than you could eat, you then felt a bit embarassed by just how much food you had ordered.

Our team are trained to go out of their way to ensure that our customers enjoy their meal when dining with us, and as we are only human and life being what it is - in the rare instance there is something that we have overlooked or messed up, then we will happily refund and replace the meal immediately.

Your 20 oz rump steak had come from Organically reared, free range cattle than are raised less than 4 miles away, using traditional methods, allowing them to graze naturally. Prior to butchering, the sides of beef are hung for at least 28 days, to allow the beef to become utterly tender.

Once your steak was grilled, it was allowed to rest, prior to being served to allow the meat to relax and become, even more tender.

The Hare and Hounds prides itself on sourcing the finest ingredients from outstanding local suppliers, so that we can provide excellent food as well as offering fantastic value for money.

Whilst, I apologise that you feel you didn't enjoy your meal, perhaps in future you might consider voicing you r concerns at the time, so that something can be done to correct the situation, instead of publishing ill-considered, inaccurate and defamatory comments in a public forum. Should you wish to contact me directly, please feel free to email the pub directly, via our website, or feel free to telephone instead.

Until then, perhaps when dining elsewhere you might consider ordering smaller portions, sharing meals that are intended for 2 people, or at least pacing yourself between courses.

And hould you ever have any reason to be upset about your meal, tell the staff immediately.

dad2james - 17 May 2012 22:05
Staying in a lovely place up the road and thought we'd pop in here for supper. Nothing was great, but not what I'd actually call bad until my main arrived. I ordered a steak - rare. I got a giant piece of carpet - raw. Now, I'm not a big carpet fan on the best of days, but this was particularly awful. Not seasoned, raw and too sinewy to chew. Felt a bit bad because it was so disgusting and I was starving so, stupidly, soldiered through. At the end of the meal I mentioned politely to the landlord the issues mentioned above and he went on the defensive, to such an extent that it became embarrassing. Also of note is the fact that their menu says they make their own hamburgers. When my girlfriend ordered one medium rare she was told they couldn't do this as it's illegal unless they're made on the premises. WTF? Final nail in the coffin was, as we left, the waiter running out of the pub after us, screeching, "Have you paid your bill?!" We had. Avoid this place like the plague, which I have no doubt now caught by 'eating' raw carpet here.
Prask - 7 Apr 2012 23:23
T had started to frequent this pub attracted by the pleasant atmosphere, but am now sworn never to return. On asking for fishcakes for lunch, I was surprised upon opening up a fishcake to find that it consisted almost entirely of mashed potato with virtually no fish present, On complaining and returning the dish.I was accosted by a very angry cook who wanted to know what I was complaining about, on telling her that there was no fish she told me that the fishcakes had been prepared by another cook on a previous day, I then pointed out that the menu described the fishcakes as being "Todays Fishcakes, made from fresh fish delivered daily" which was obviously a misrepresentation if they had been made on a previous day. The ire of the cook then exploded into an embarrasing scene which my family and elderly mother had to endure in front of a crowded pub. I would advise anyone who goes there to take a careful look at the menu to avoid being cheated and then attacked as I was.
rhwsmith - 22 Feb 2012 06:28
Good pub with good food, pies are a speciality from a Bath Company, a good selection of beer.
People of Pickwick are lucky. Two great pubs to chose from.
Couple of decent beers favourite Deuchars took pride of place.
Not expensive but not cheap either.
Us your local of lose it!
inkywebber - 26 Feb 2011 10:24

see more reviews

got anything to say about this pub?

Please read our reviews policy before posting.
Only registered users can post reviews. Please log in. If you don't have an account yet, register here.